August 2015 Culture Consumed

One of my favourite podcasts, Galactic Suburbia, has a section in each episode called Culture Consumed where the three hosts discuss what they have been reading, watching or other form of relevant cultural activity between episodes. I really like the idea of a wrap up of cultural experiences so plan to do one each month for my blog.

Getting back on the horse here – I may get back to the missing six months of 2015 at some point.So below is my August reading/watching/attending-ness as I can remember it:

Books/Comics/Graphic Novels

I have no idea what happened for the first week and a half of August – I find it unlikely that I didn’t read at all but apparently I didn’t finish any books in that period……. or maybe I just didn’t remember to write them down.

  1. The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • Finish Date: 10/08/2015
  • Paper or Ebook or Audible: Audible
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio (Viking Book for Young Readers)
  • Genre: YA
  • Release Date: January 2014
  • Pages: 391p
  • Goodreads Stars and Review: 4 Stars

I was a bit torn about this book-I find contemporary YA a little bit grating in Audible format as I can’t just read faster when the narrator is being a drama filled teen and so the audible format was a probably a bad choice for me-however, once I moved past this I was totally engrossed in this story. It was very emotional but I thought well handled with excellent characterization and not sugar coated in the ending.

2. Habit Stacking: How to set smart goals & avoid procrastination in 30 easy steps by The Blokehead

  • Finish Date: 17/08/2015
  • Paper or Ebook or Audible: Audible
  • Publisher: Smashwords Inc.
  • Genre: Self-Help
  • Release Date: January 2015
  • Pages: ????
  • Goodreads Stars and Review: 4 Stars

Not entirely sure how this book got onto my audible account as I had never considered looking at self-help audio-books, however, present GreenEyedGal thanks past GreenEyedGal for picking it up in whatever audible sale it was in. I was looking for something to use as a tool to refocus on my goals in several aspects of my life but not something that would take up too much time or involve endless exercises etc and this audiobook really fitted the bill. It’s a couple of hours long and is easily divided into chapters with lots of repetition so you can get on with some other non-concentration requiring task as you listen. As with many self-help books and tools-it’s nothing you haven’t thought or heard before-but when someone else spells it out to you it becomes easier to apply in your approach to your own tasks. And it was definitely successful for me.

3. The Shambling Guide to New York City by Mur Lafferty

  • Finish Date: 17/08/2015
  • Paper or Ebook or Audible: Paperback
  • Publisher: Orbit
  • Genre: Urban Fantasy
  • Release Date: January 2013
  • Pages: 350p
  • Goodreads Stars and Review: 4 Stars

This comes from the ‘Finally getting around to read’ pile. I listen to the ‘I should be writing’ podcast and occasionally the ‘Ditchdiggers’ podcast so had been curious to check out Lafferty’s work for quite awhile. And I really enjoyed it – it was a fairly straight up urban fantasy but the world was really fun to be in and I enjoyed the characters.

4. Johnathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susannah Clarke

  • Finish Date: 28/08/2015
  • Paper or Ebook or Audible: Audible
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Inc
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Release Date: December 2004
  • Pages: 846p
  • Goodreads Stars and Review: 4 Stars

This was one epic undertaking of an audiobook which I had been chipping away at since May! There were some moments in the middle where I seriously thought about throwing in the towel as we meandered from situation to situation in such a gentle manner that I was not sure where we were headed (and I should note I loved each little intricate bit but there was just a point at which it seemed never ending). This long haul, however, was totally worth it when we got to the last few hours in the audible book and things started to click together into a nail biting finale. Now I can totally watch the BBC series – Yay!

Movies/TV

MIFF 2015

Much happiness and joy! See my earlier post about what I saw at MIFF 2015.

I only have one non-Miff 2015 movie written down for August:

Girlhood – This film didn’t really enthrall me as much as I had expected given all that I had heard.

I’ve been watching a few series on netflix in dribs and drabs:

Nashville Season 1

The Almighty Johnsons Season 1-3

The 100 Season 1

Events/Festivals/Plays

I went to two MTC plays in August

The Death and the Maiden

The Weir

I’m still processing how I feel about The Weir but I didn’t find either of these plays appealed to me nearly as much as The Waiting Room and North by Northwest which I saw earlier this year.

Hmmm clearly I need to think more about what I watch before I write these posts as I just sort of trail out at the end! Anyways until next time.

Leave a Reply

